Photograph of a pile of old books
 

History

Cambo Institute

Cambo House and Estate lies on the east coast of Fife, 7 miles south of St Andrews. The present day estate, which has been in the Erskine family for 300 years, dates from the late 18th and early 19th centuries. It is included in ‘An Inventory of Gardens and Designed Landscapes in Scotland’ as an important example of a picturesque, model estate. The buildings within the landscape include the stables, carriage house, coach house, mausoleum, walled garden, dovecote, lodges and 2 model farms, listed by Historic Scotland.


Cambo Stables

Statement of Significance

The stable building at Cambo is one of a number of buildings ancillary to Cambo House that contribute to the collective architectural and historic importance of the policies and estate. The stable is category B-listed and is within the Cambo designed landscape included in the Inventory of Gardens and Designed Landscapes. The original stable building was designed by George Paterson in the 1760s and the first floor added in 1870; the additional coach houses and the large walled garden which the stables adjoin is attributed to Robert Balfour, circa 1800; the north courtyard and the detached cartshed building known as the Coach House are likely to be early 19th century.

Download the full report. PDF